Weekly Inspiration: April 8, 2014

Dana Eriksen, Victoria BC Yoga Teacher

Dana Eriksen, Victoria BC Yoga Teacher

This week my inspiration came from my beautiful friend Dana Eriksen. She reminded me how important it is to be mindful about every aspect of your practice, specifically your asana practice. She encouraged me to be aware of exactly where I place my feet/hands/head/hips/shoulders/fingers/gaze for every pose. Not for the purpose of reaching perfect alignment but instead for the purpose of being knowledgable and purposeful with my actions. To be mindful in asana practice encourages that mindfulness in your day to day actions such as thinking, speaking, eating, exercising, etc. For example:

♥ To be mindful of your thoughts is to ask yourself: What is the purpose of this thought? Will it benefit me and the others around me? Is it promoting self love? Is it promoting love for others?

♥ To be mindful of your words is to ask yourself: What is the purpose of what I have to say? Will my words benefit me and the others around me? Are my words truthful and meaningful?

♥ To be mindful of your diet and body is to ask yourself: Will this food nourish my body or could it deplete my health? Will it make me feel good? Will it make me stronger physically and emotionally? Am I really hungry? How much food does my body need to stay healthy?

♥ To be mindful of your body during exercise is to ask yourself: What is my limit today? Do I feel strong enough to take it to the next stage or should I back off for today to prevent strain and injury? Is this activity nourishing my body and making me stronger physically and emotionally?

These are simple questions that can be easily forgotten and I admit I am guilty of forgetting now and then. That bit of gossip slips out, I tell myself I am ugly or fat, I eat a whole wheel of cheese, I get drunk, I push my body too hard. It happens to everyone, no one can be perfect. BUT I am blessed with my yoga practice and beautiful friends, loved ones, and nature around me to bring me back to it. There is purpose and meaning to everything we do. Next time you hit your mat, be mindful of your movements and see how you can carry that practice off of your mat and into your daily life.

Check Dana out on instagram @danaeriksen or visit her at Lululemon Victoria ♥

xo domestikatie

Leave a Reply

